166th Cadet Class Graduates from the Pennsylvania State Police Academy, Ready to Serve and Protect

State Police

HARRISBURG, PA — On Friday, 49 cadets marked the beginning of their careers as officers in the Pennsylvania State Police Department. After an intensive training regimen at the academy in Hershey, they will now assume their responsibilities as the latest batch of young and dynamic officers. This marks the 166th class to have graduated from the esteemed academy since its inception in 1960.

Colonel Christopher Paris, the commissioner of the Pennsylvania State Police, proudly stated, “The women and men of the 166th Cadet Class have completed one of the most intense and comprehensive basic training courses in the nation. Now, they are prepared to join the ranks of the long gray line and provide professional law enforcement services as their predecessors have done since 1905. As Governor Shapiro has said, Pennsylvanians deserve to be safe and feel safe, and these young Troopers are here to ensure that.”

Five cadets received special awards and recognition during today’s ceremony at LCBC Manheim in Lancaster County.

  • Robert D. Bastian received the Ronald M. Sharpe Leadership Award for exemplifying the qualities of leadership.
  • Robert D. Bastian also received the American Legion Award for all-around academic, physical, ethical, and moral qualifications.
  • Edward D. Svarchevsky received the John K. Schafer Memorial Award for the highest combined score on a series of physical skills tests.
  • Cooper D. LeGuard received the Daniel F. Dunn High Scholastic Award for the highest level of academic achievement in the class.
  • Ryan J. Marcella received the Colonel Paul J. Chylak Memorial Driver Proficiency Award for the highest proficiency in driver safety training.
  • John P. Matacic II received the Sergeant Charles B. Gesford High Pistol Award for the highest score on the department’s pistol qualification course.
READ:  Archdiocesan High Schools Graduate the Class of 2023

The new troopers will report to the following troops May 22:

Troop A

  • Robert D. Bastian
  • Cassidy N. Honkus

Troop B

  • Trevor D. Hicks
  • Andrew C. Homyak

Troop C

  • Nathan S. Barron
  • Bayden M. Davenport
  • Collin R. DeLattre
  • Ryan S. Good
  • John R. Herold
  • John P. Matacic II
  • Mitchell L. Lapp
  • Shon M. Seibert-Reed
  • Ryan D. VanTine
  • Salvador Zepeda III

Troop E

  • Cooper D. LeGuard
  • Ryan J. Marcella
  • Justin M. Wehrli

Troop F

  • Cody A. Fisher
  • Brock W. Port
  • Robert F. Smith
  • Kody K. Taylor

Troop H

  • Kolten A. Conrad
  • Tanner L. Kresovich
  • Travis L. Lamereaux
  • John D. Lane
  • Justin R. McDonnell
  • Michael P. Posteraro Jr.
  • Aaron D. Rahn
  • Emilio N. Rizzo Jr.
  • Robert E. Valatka
  • Joshua M. Zukoski

Troop J

  • Austin J. Billet
  • Kyle E. Connelly
  • Daniel R. Kornfeind
  • Kyle R. Munro
  • Takoda C. Perez

Troop K

  • Maximilian J. Baptiste
  • Jason P. Eckman
  • Patrick S. Galvin
  • Jermaine J. Graham
  • Eduardo A. Lopez
  • Tyler R. Martin
  • Ryan M. Reeves
  • Scott A. Serpe
  • Edward D. Svarchevsky
  • Jared D. Widmer
  • Ryan A. Wolk
  • James J. Yezzo

Troop L

  • Jacob W. Luckenbill

For more information on the Pennsylvania State Police, visit psp.pa.gov. To learn more about becoming a Pennsylvania State Trooper, visit patrooper.com.

For the latest news on everything happening in Chester County and the surrounding area, be sure to follow MyChesCo on Google News.