Congresswoman Houlahan Reintroduces Bipartisan Bill to Ban Oil Exports to Foreign Adversaries

Fossil FuelImage by Markus Distelrath

In a bipartisan effort, Congresswoman Chrissy Houlahan (D-PA) and Congressman Don Bacon (R-NE) yesterday reintroduced the Banning Oil Exports to Foreign Adversaries Act. This act would ban China, Russia, Iran, North Korea, and other sanctioned nations from purchasing oil from the U.S. Strategic Petroleum Reserves. This is in direct response to the loophole that currently exists which allows these countries to purchase oil from our strategic reserves. Closing this loophole is essential in order to protect our national security interests.

“Every American should be shocked, as I was, to hear there’s a loophole enabling our foreign adversaries to purchase oil from our strategic reserves,” said Houlahan. “Last year when high gas prices were making it harder for families to fill up their tanks, releases from the strategic reserve were meant to ease the financial burden for working families—not potentially end up in the hands those who wish our servicemembers and NATO Allies harm. Closing this loophole requires a congressional fix, which is why I’m proud to partner with fellow veteran Rep. Don Bacon to do exactly that.”

“As the leader of the free world, we need to stand firm against tyrants who wage war on peaceful democracies and abuse their own people, and this includes not selling them oil from our Strategic Petroleum Reserve,” said Bacon. “Americans are struggling to fill up their tanks, put food on the table and pay for home energy. We need to look at expanding American innovation and production here at home instead of serving our adversaries who wish to harm America and her allies. Fellow veteran Rep. Houlahan and I joined together on this legislation to protect those reserves.”

READ:  Legislators Call on FDA to Prioritize Infant Foods

They are joined by 41 original cosponsors—7 Republicans and 34 Democrats: Representatives Ami Bera (D-CA), Sanford Bishop Jr. (D-GA), Nikki Budzinski (D-IL), Yadira Caraveo (D-CO), Salud Carbajal (D-CA), Kathy Castor (D-FL), Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick (D-FL), Emanuel Cleaver (D-MO), Steve Cohen (D-TN), Jim Costa (D-CA), Joe Courtney (D-CT), Sharice Davids (D-KS), Diana DeGette (D-CO), Rosa DeLauro (D-CT), Jake Ellzey (R-TX), María Elvira Salazar (R-FL), Pat Fallon (R-TX), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA), John Garamendi (D-CA), Jenniffer González Colón (R-PR), Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ), Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), William Keating (D-MA), Dan Kildee (D-MI), Young Kim (R-CA), Andy Kim (D-NJ), Ann Kuster (D-NH), Mike Levin (D-CA), J. Lou Correa (D-CA), Jared Moskowitz (D-FL), Jay Obernolte (R-CA), Chris Pappas (D-NH), Scott Peters (D-CA), Dean Phillips (D-MN), Mike Quigley (D-IL), Bradley Schneider (D-IL), Elissa Slotkin (D-MI), Dina Titus (D-NV), Jill Tokuda (D-HI), David Trone (D-MD), and Susan Wild (D-PA).

Read the full text of the bill here.

For the latest news on everything happening in Chester County and the surrounding area, be sure to follow MyChesCo on Google News.

Thanks for visiting! Looking for some Chester County pride? We got you covered! Shop our MyChesCo store and show your love for Chester County, Pennsylvania. We got shirts, hats, and more – all with a unique ChesCo flair. Plus, proceeds from each purchase helps support our mission of bringing reliable information and resources to the people of Chester County.