Casey, Toomey Celebrate Passage of Legislation to Name U.S. Courthouse after Judge Sylvia Rambo

courthouseImage by Mike Braun

WASHINGTON, D.C. — U.S. Senators Bob Casey (D-PA) and Pat Toomey (R-PA) are commending the passage of legislation to designate the new U.S. Courthouse in Harrisburg as the “Sylvia H. Rambo United States Courthouse,” which is expected to open next year.

Toomey and Casey introduced this legislation in April, and Pennsylvania U.S. Representatives Scott Perry (R-PA), Susan Wild (D-PA), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA), Matt Cartwright (D-PA), Fred Keller (R-PA), and Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA) introduced the House companion.

“Judge Rambo is a trailblazer in her career and an inspiration to countless young women and public servants. She has served the judiciary for decades, and we are lucky to have benefitted from her judgment and dedication here in Pennsylvania. Naming this courthouse after Judge Rambo is in honor of her years of service to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. I am hopeful that the House will take swift action to pass this bill so that we can make this dedication official,” said Senator Casey

READ:  Chester County Sheriff’s Office Announces Five-County Command and Leadership Program

“Judge Rambo is a trailblazer–serving as the first female on the bench of the Pennsylvania Court of Common Pleas for Cumberland County and the U.S. District Court for the Middle District of Pennsylvania. Her commitment to the law and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania is admirable, and, through this new courthouse, her judicial legacy will be enshrined for generations of Pennsylvanians to appreciate,” said Senator Toomey.

Thanks for visiting! MyChesCo brings reliable information and resources to Chester County, Pennsylvania. Please consider supporting us in our efforts. Your generous donation will help us continue this work and keep it free of charge. Show your support today by clicking here and becoming a patron.